Christ Church


We have a strong community, enabling us to maintain Christ Church as a Christian home for all who need us

TonyOur Vicar is the Reverend Tony Berry, who lives in Abinger Common, our sister parish on the other side of Leith Hill.

Tony leads the Parochial Church Council, the PCC, which manages the life of Christ Church as a Christian community as well as caring for the fabric and finances of the Church, its churchyard and the John Venus Hall.

Hilary SwiftHilary Swift, the Benefice's Local Lay Minister, assists Tony by leading services and small groups (Bible Study, Confirmation preparation and the like), preaching and pastoral work.  

Hilary has a Higher Diploma in Theology, Ministry and Mission, and works for Compassion UK, a Christian charity.

VirginiaRev Virginia Smith leads many of our services. She has lived in Westcott almost continuously for over fifty years and first became involved with the Leith Hill Benefice when she and her late husband started to worship at St John’s in Westcott. She was ordained in 2009 ('rather late in life') and was appointed a curate at South Holmwood but would occasionally help out at Wotton and Holmbury. During the Holmbury vacancy, before David Grundy’s appointment as Priest in Charge, she felt called to leave South Holmwood and help out full time at these two parishes.  Since then,  much to my delight (and ours!), she has become  increasingly involved with the parishes of Abinger and Coldharbour 'who have made me so welcome and enabled me to  make many new friends'.  Virginia is also an Honorary Chaplain at St Peter’s Hospital, Chertsey where her principal role is in the Neonatal Unit and Paediatrics.

Three key members on the PCC are our two Churchwardens, Anthony Simpson and Mary Hustings , together with Martin Neve, our Treasurer.

The  other members of the PCC are Kerry Day, Graham Mytton, Helen Potter, Martin Richards, John Roberts and Helen Simkins.

Helen Potter is our Electoral Roll Officer as well as looking after Gift Aid on donations to our funds.

Martin Richards is responsible for this website.

Helen Simkins is our Safeguarding Officer.

Sally McCance, the Parish (Abinger plus  Coldharbour ) Secretary, is also secretary to our PCC.

David Hensell plays the organ once used by Ralph Vaughan Williams as well as being our choirmaster.

Debby Chapman, leader of the Village Band,  plays the piano for our All Ages Plus services, often accompanied by young village musicians.

Patsy Simpson and Trish Syms organise Church flowers.

Jenny Richards is the sacristan - looking after alter vestments.

Tiggs Morton prepares the Coldharbour inputs to the Parish News, which we share with St James Abinger and is edited in Abinger by Liz Hamilton and Jenny Parker.

Sue Neve manages Church cleaning.

Su Jones manages bookings for the John Venus Hall, as well as its cleaning.